Just announced, Julian Fellowes’ Titanic Miniseries

As creeped out as I now am by Julian Fellowes, I can still enjoy his TV shows, so long as he doesn’t start casting himself.  I was excited when I heard about him doing a version of the Titanic story, because it’s the same time period as Downton Abbey, and he obviously does that well. Also, I am interested in the Titanic, partially because it sunk on my birthday, but also just because it’s an interesting story, and god knows nothing in the entire world can be worse than the James Cameron version, if only because of the Celine Dion associations. His miniseries will air in April to mark the 100th anniversary of the disaster, and it will be on ABC here in the States (yay).

In watching the trailer, I can’t help but notice all the similar visuals to the James Cameron movie, which I suppose is inevitable.  It is at least comforting to hear Fellowes explain that there will be big differences between his version and Cameron’s.  He explains that the movie was “a love story set against the [background of] the sinking of the Titanic”, and that he plans to tell the story of all the classes on board.  It’s already being called, only slightly ironically, Downton at Sea. Fellowes is sticking with the multi-story arc that works so well in Downton, and I can’t blame him for that.  I’m hoping it turns out well, and I can watch it without getting My Heart Will Go On stuck in my head.

Here’s the trailer, for those who are interested.

5 responses to “Just announced, Julian Fellowes’ Titanic Miniseries

  1. I know you’re frightened of seeing Julian Fellowes on camera, but he was pretty good as the sort of next door neighbor on Monarch of the Glen. I didn’t even know about his writing and producing stuff while I watched Monarch. So is his Titanic going to be airing in the US in April, or is that the UK airing?

    • I haven’t seen that show yet. I think my distaste for him will fade now that I’m done with that book of his.

      The Titanic miniseries is showing in the UK and the US at the same time so that it will air on the 100th anniversary of the sinking. So, both!

  2. Yesterday I watched all four parts of JF’s Titanic. (With lovely commercial breaks!) Downton Abbey it ain’t! Of course I knew what was going to happen, but I kind of wanted some of those women to die. They were nasty. At first I thought I was going to like the non-linear way it was presented, but it got tedious and repetitive. And why do they always end these movies at the sinking? I want to know about the rest of the story, the rescue, the inquest, their lives afterwards. Guess that’s too boring after such a dramatic disaster.

Leave a Reply

